Beautiful Ways To Say "I Love You" Around The World

Team Hoo
11th February 2021

One of the most amazing things about travelling with someone you love is showcasing the many ways you can say I love you, both verbally and physically. With different cultures expressing themselves differently, there are near endless ways for you to show someone special that they are adored and appreciated. 

Romantic Short Breaks

Taking a short romantic break with someone special can help lower stress and improve mental health and indirectly show that person they are loved and cared for. When planning a romantic trip, it’s all about the anticipation and excitement, especially when it’s a place you’ve never been before or even someone deeply special to you both. Taking that time away from day-to-day life reaffirms and renews intimacy, as well as strengthens your relationship.

It allows you both to disconnect from the world, and talk to one another - something which can get lost when you’re both so busy. 

With so many different places, so many cultures to explore, and various ways to express how you feel, take the dive and consider telling the person you love how you feel in a different language. 

10 Ways To Say "I Love You" And Where They Are Spoken 

When it comes to saying "I love you", add that extra special layer to it by speaking the tongue of the country you are in. Below, we’ve included a list of languages, how to say "I love you", and in which countries these languages are present. 

English: I Love You

English is spoken, or understood, in many different counties with Babbel even saying it’s one of the most studied languages. To name a few places, here is where English is the primary language: United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, India, Ireland, Jamaica, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States, South Africa, Singapore, and the Philippines. 

Arabic: Ahabak

Spoken in over twenty-five countries, to name just a few, Arabic is commonly spoken in: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen. It is also spoken across various continents including North Africa, Western Asia and East Africa. 

Bengali: Āmi Tōmāẏa Bhālōbāsi
With just over 210 million people speaking Bengali, as either a first or second language, here is which countries it is spoken in:
Bangladesh, West Bengal (India), Tripura (India), Assam (India)

Dutch: Ik Hou Van Je
While Dutch is the primary language spoken in the Netherlands, it is also the official language of Flanders, and Suriname, Curaçao and St Maarten.

French: Je T’aime
French is considered the primary language in 29 countries; they include: France, and Canada, particularly Quebec, New Brunswick and Eastern parts of Ontario. As well as in the Côte, d’Ivoire, Congo, Monaco, Switzerland, French Caribbean, Guinea, Haiti, and Luxembourg. 

German: Ich Liebe Dich
German is the predominant language of these five countries:
Germany, Austria, Belgium, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg and Switzerland.

Hindi: Main Tumse Pyar Karta Hoon
In 2011, there were a reported 528 million Hindi speakers, here are the countries it is spoken in most notably:  Indian states including Bihar, Delhi, Haryana, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh, as well as Chhattisgarh in Central India and Rajasthan in West India. It is also spoken in Mauritius, Fiji and Nepal.  

Portuguese: Eu Te Amo
Portugues is the official language in ten countries, most notably Brazil, but also these countries: Angola, Cape Verde, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Macau, Mozambique, Portugal, Príncipe, São Tomé and Timor-Leste. 

Russian: Ya Lyublyu Tebya
While Russian is Russia's official language, Belarus, Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan, it is also widely used in Ukraine. 

Spanish: Te Amo, Te Quiero
There are over 500 million native Spanish speakers, and here are just some of the countries Spanish is spoken: Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

How To Say I Love You In Different Languages

With so many countries to explore, here are 30 more ways to say I love you, in various languages worldwide. 

We’ve listed the language on the left and the spelling on the right. 

Afrikaans - Ek Het Jou Lief

Bosnian - Volim Te

Cantonese - Ngóh Oi Néih

Czech - Miluji Tě

Danish - Jeg Elsker Dig

Galician - Quérote Moito

Greek - Se Agapó

Filipino - Mahal Kita

Finnish - Minä Rakastan Sinua

Hawaiian - Aloha Au Ia 'oe

Hebrew - Ani Ohev Otach

Hungarian - Szeretlek

Icelandic - Ég Elska Þig

Indonesian - Aku Cinta Kamu

Italian - Ti Amo 

Japanese: Watashi Wa, Anata O Aishiteimasu 

Korean - Sarang Hae

Latvian - Es Mīlu Tevi

Mandarin - Wǒ Ài Nǐ

Nepali - Ma Timīlā'ī Māyā Garchu.

Norwegian - Jeg Elsker Deg

Persian - Duset Daram

Romanian - Te Iubesc

Slovak - Ľúbim Ťa

Somali: Waan Ku Jeclahay

Swahili - Nakupenda

Swedish - Jag Älskar Dig

Turkish -  Seni Seviyorum

Vietnamese: Anh Yêu Em

Welsh - Rwy'n Dy Garu Di

While love itself is classed as the universal language, being able to tell someone you care for that you love them in the natural tongue of where they’re from, where you’re visiting, or somewhere unique to them, says even more than the words themselves. So, how do you say ‘I love you’?

Share this article